Cyprus Facts


Official Name:  Republic of Cyprus (1960)

Capital: Nicosia (Lefkosia)

European Union:  Member since 1st May 2004

National Holiday:  1st October – Independence Day

Time:  +2 hours GMT

Currency: Euro – €  (since 2008)

Measures:  Metric system

Coordinates:  35 00 N, 33 00 E

GDP: €21 billion


Location:  Cyprus is located in the extreme northeast corner of the Mediterranean basin, at the crossroads of Europe, Asia and Africa.  It is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea (after Sicily and Sardinia).

Cyprus measures 240 km latitudinal and 100 km longitudinally. The island has a central plain with mountains to the north and south and scattered plains along the southern coast. Cyprus has 648 km of coastline and an area of 9,251 sq km. The highest point in Cyprus is the Mount Olympus at 1,951 meters above sea level.

Cyprus has a mild Mediterranean climate, with long warm dry summers from May to October and mild winters with occasional rainfall, lasting from December to February. Average temperatures in summer is 34°C, in winter is 13°C and all year round mean temperature is around 22°C.

Cyprus is a full member of European Union, United Nations, Council of Europe, Commonwealth, World Bank, the International Monetary Fund and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe.

Population:  857,000 (Republic of Cyprus, est 2014)

Population by District:

  • Nicosia:            327,000
  • Limassol:         242,900
  • Larnaca:           147,200
  • Paphos:              92,000
  • Famagusta:        47,900

Religions:  Greek Orthodox 78%, Muslim 18% and 4% other religions (includes Maronite and Armenian Apostolic)

Ethnic Composition: Greek Cypriot Community 71,%, Turkish Cypriot Community 9,5%, Foreign Residents 19,5% (data refers to the whole island, end of 2014).

Official Languages:  Greek, Turkish , English

Literacy:  97.6%

Life Expectancy:  Men 80 Years – Women 85 years


The Republic of Cyprus has a unitary presidential system, whereby the President of Cyprus is both head of state and head of government. The Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the parliament. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

The Government is elected every five years as per the national legislature which is based on adult voters over 18 years of age.  Elections last held in February 2013.

The Legal System in Cyprus

Considering that Cyprus is a comparatively young Republic its Law and Legal System are far advanced and rich with statutory provisions and principles, is based on mixed legal system of English common law and civil law with European law supremacy, so it has behind it years of development and refinement.

The Courts in Cyprus possess the necessary powers to enforce compliance by parties who fail to obey judgement and orders made against them.

On the whole, there is a very high level of public confidence in the Cyprus legal system. Internationally, it is regarded as very efficient and one of the strongest in Europe as it combines the common sense and wisdom of the Common Law with the presence of constitutional safeguards for the protection of Human Rights. 

(Sources: The word Fact book – Cyprus Profile)


Enter your keyword